😴 3 Controllable Sleep Behaviors For Health & Longevity

For more context on this post, read here.

I’m on a personal mission to improve my HRV this year. Why?

Optimal HRV is a associated with good cardiovascular health, better emotional regulation, enhanced neurocognitive processing in cluing improved focus, readiness, and stress resilience (Conder & Conder, 2014).

Here’s what I’m focusing on:

  1. More dedicated time to mental fitness. At least 30 minutes each week set aside for mindfulness, breathwork, or gratitude journaling.

  2. More Zone 2 aerobic exercise.

  3. Not eating past 7 pm. This crushes my evening HRV and my sleep is terrible.

  4. Pre-sleep slow paced breathing (AIM7’s Relax Breathwork). This will increase my HRV before bed and increase my HRV during sleep. I’ve been testing this lately and its wild!!

In a recent study, researchers unveiled a surprising link between weight changes and cognitive health in older adults. The results were surprising!

The study, involving over 12,000 participants aged 63 on average, revealed that significant decreases in body mass index (BMI) or waist circumference aren't always a win for health. In fact, every 5% reduction in these measures was associated with a 6%-7% higher chance of cognitive impairment.

Also a >10% decrease in waist circumference was associated with 40% higher odds of cognitive impairment.

Why does this matter? Well, it challenges the conventional wisdom that weight loss in later years is always beneficial. Instead, it seems that stability in BMI and waist circumference might be key to maintaining cognitive sharpness.

I suspect that changes in weight or waist circumference were also accompanied by loss of muscle, which is detrimental for aging populations.