I Broke The Rules & Gained 4.5 Pounds Of Muscle — Here’s How I Did It

I recently recorded a podcast episode about how I gained 4.5 lbs of muscle and only 0.4% body fat over seven months. Many people asked about the details behind my diet and workout plan, so here’s a detailed breakdown of everything I did and why.

Remember, this plan was for someone who’s been lifting weights for over 30 years and is very active. So keep that in mind.

Nutrition Plan

  1. Caloric Surplus: I consumed approximately 3,500 calories per day, slightly above my daily energy requirements.

  2. High Protein Intake: I aimed for 210-220 grams of protein per day to support muscle growth and recovery.

  3. Balanced Macronutrients: The remainder of my calories came from a balance of carbohydrates and fats.

Protein

Carbohydrates

Fat

Grams

215

330

146

Calories

860

1320

1320

Shopping List

My diet was fairly consistent, and I usually consumed the same meals from Monday to Friday. On Saturdays, I’d stay on plan and then eat one fun meal with the family. On Sundays, I often skip breakfast and only eat two meals.

My staple lunches consists of roasted vegetables and a type of protein, typically fish or chicken. Every Sunday, I roast a variety of vegetables, store them in a Tupperware container, and consume around 200-300g of these vegetables alongside some protein during the week.

Dinner was the same with added carbs, typically potatoes, rice, rice cakes, and/or berries.

For breakfast, I typically have a large omelette with eggs, additional egg whites, vegetables, and a variety of meats such as turkey bacon, bacon, or sausage.

I know…it’s boring. But it’s repeatable!

Protein

Veggies

Carbs

Fats

Chicken Breast

Asparagus

Sweet Potatoes

Olive Oil

Salmon Steaks

Red Onions

Yukon Gold Potatoes

Peanut Butter

Ground Turkey

Spinach

Rice Cakes

Walnuts

Collagen Protein

Bell Peppers

Jasmine Rice

Butter

Broccoli

Mixed frozen berries

Supplements

Resistance Training Plan

  1. Weight Training: I performed 12-15 working sets per body part per week, split over 3 full-body workouts. Working sets were challenging, leaving only 2-3 reps in reserve before failure.

  2. Warm-Up Sets: I always performed warm-up sets before working sets to prevent injury and prime my body for the heavier lifts.

  3. Compound Exercises: I focused on compound exercises like squats, lunges, presses, and pulls to maximize muscle recruitment.

  4. Supersets: To maintain high intensity and save time, I often paired exercises in supersets, resting 2.5-3 minutes between sets.

Example Workout

15 Minute General Warm-Up
*My warm-up is perfectly detailed in the AIM7 app

Power

  • 2 warm-up sets before working sets

  • A1. Trap Bar Pull 4 x 3

  • A2. Incline Plyo Pushup 4 x 5

  • Rest 2.5 minutes after each superset

Strength

  • 2-3 warm-up sets before working sets

  • A1. Dumbbell Floor Press 3-4 x 5

  • 2. Barbell RDL 3-4 x 5

  • Rest 2.5 minutes after each superset

Hypertrophy

  • 1-2 warm-up sets before working sets

  • A1. Lateral DB Shoulder Raises x 12

  • A2. Roman Chair Sit-Up x 12

  • A3. Seated Calf Raise

  • Rest 2 minutes after each giant set and repeat 3-4 times

Aerobic and Daily Activity

  1. Zone 2 Cardio: I performed 2 hours of low-intensity, zone 2 aerobic per week.

  2. Daily Walks: I aimed for 10,000 steps per day, walking every morning for 30 minutes with a weighted vest and 1-15 minutes after every meal. Sometimes I’d wrap up the evening with a 20-30 minute family walk.

SUN

MON

TUE

WED

THU

FRI

SAT

10k Steps

10k Steps

10k Steps

10k Steps

10k Steps

10k Steps

10k Steps

Weights

Weights

Weights

Zone 2

Zone 2

Recovery and Stress Management

  1. Sleep: Prioritizing quality sleep was crucial for recovery and overall well-being. My average sleep duration was approximately 7.5 hours per night

  2. Family & Friends: Outside of my relationship with God, my family is my ultimate priority. Even though I was working like crazy, I focused on spending quality time with my wife, and kids, and regularly doing life with close friends.

  3. Flexibility: I listened to my body and adjusted my workouts when necessary, sometimes swapping a weight training day for a cardio day or taking a rest day. I use the AIM7 readiness score and recommendations to dial my training up and down.

Wrap Up

By following this plan consistently over 7 months, I was able to gain a significant amount of muscle while minimizing fat gain. The key factors in my success were a strategic caloric surplus, moderate volume weight training, consistent aerobic exercise and steps, and a focus on sleep and adjusting my workouts using AIM7.

In Case You Missed This Week's Blueprint Podcast Episodes...

If you track your HRV with a wearable then you are going to get a ton out of this episode with Mark McLaughlin. Mark is an elite performance coach who has trained more than 700 athletes in his career from high school athletes to NFL players, Olympians, and special operators. He’s also one of the top experts when it comes to using HRV for training. This conversation tackles battle tested steps to systematically upgrade HRV regardless of your limitations. You can connect with Mark on on Instagram, LinkedIn and X

Is intermittent fasting a magic bullet for effortless fat loss and better health? In this episode, I cut through the hype by breaking down a new systematic review on how time-restricted eating really impacts appetite, weight loss, and more compared to standard calorie cutting. Discover the truth on whether limiting your eating window offers any unique benefits beyond typical dieting as I reveal the latest research on how various fasting approaches affect hunger levels, body composition changes, metabolic function, physical activity, and diet adherence. You can book Erik for your next event, try AIM7 for Free and connect with me on Instagram, YouTube, or LInkedIn.

In this episode, renowned dietitian, Kate Scarlata, reveals everything you need to know about digestion, fiber, poop consistency, digestive enzymes, and more. With more than 30 years of clinical expertise in gastrointestinal nutrition, Kate busts myths and provides science-backed guidance to help you take control of your gut and boost overall wellness. Tune in for practical ways to advocate for your digestive health and gain clarity on common gut health struggles and simple solutions you can implement today. You can connect with Kate on Instagram or X and purchase her new book: Mind Your Gut: The Science-based, Whole-body Guide to Living Well with IBS.

Yours in Wellness,

TELL YOUR FRIENDS. HELP ADAPTATION GROW.

Don't keep it to yourself, share Adaptation now.